Minutes Board of Natural Resources Special Conference Call Meeting 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, S. E. Suite 1252 East Tower Atlanta, GA 30334

August 2, 2023 9:00 a.m.

Board Members

Dwight Davis, Chair Joe Hatfield, Vice Chair Gary Vowell, Secretary Nancy Addison Randy Dellinger Patrick Denney **Charles DePriest** Dan Garcia Mark Hennessy Penn Hodge Kevin Jackson Duncan Johnson **Bill Jones** Ray Lambert Tim Lowe Lesley Reynolds Paul Shailendra Bodine Sinyard Harley Yancey

<u>Guests</u>

Rena Ann Peck, Georgia River Network Meris Lutz, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Maggie Lee, The Current Dave Williams, Capitol Beat News Service Jill Nolin, Georgia Recorder

Staff Members

Kyle Pearson Cathy Barnette Jeff Cown James Cooley Dan Roach Anna Truszcynski Laura Williams Minutes – Board of Natural Resources August 2, 2023 Page 2

The special called meeting of the Board of Natural Resources was called to order by Chairman Dwight Davis.

Chairman Davis called on Cathy Barnette for a declaration of quorum. A quorum was confirmed.

Chairman Davis stated the special meeting was called to approve the appointment of Jeff Cown as Director of the Environmental Protection Division.

Chairman Davis called on Mr. Lambert, Chairman of the Environmental Protection Committee.

Mr. Lambert stated that while Jeff Cown is currently the Director of State Parks & Historic Sites, his roots are with EPD. He further stated that following his graduation from the University of Georgia, Director Cown began his tenure at EPD in August 1990 as a permit writer for solid waste handling facilities. He added that over the years Director Cown was promoted to manage the units overseeing municipal solid waste handling and then the solid waste management program. He further added that Director Cown became the Assistant Land Branch Chief and then the Land Branch Chief in 2013, leading that branch until he departed for State Parks in the fall of 2018. Mr. Lambert stated that Director Cown is the steady hand the division needs right now, and he recommends approval.

Chairman Davis stated if there are no questions or comments, he requests a motion to approve.

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Lambert, seconded by Ms. Addison, and carried unanimously</u> to appoint Jeff Cown as the Director of the Environmental Protection Division, effective August 16, 2023, with an annual salary of \$190,000.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Dwight J. Davis, Chairman

ATTEST:

Gary Vowell, Secretary