Minutes Coastal Committee 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, S. E. Suite 1252 East Tower Atlanta, GA 30334

> Tuesday, February 22, 2022 9:00 a.m.

Attendees:

Committee Members

Nancy Addison, Chair Rob Leebern, Vice Chair William Bagwell Randy Dellinger Joe Hatfield Duncan Johnson Tim Lowe Paul Shailendra Miki Thomaston Gary Vowell Dee Yancey Bill Jones, Board Chair, Ex-officio

Board Members

Nick Ayers Dwight Davis Patrick Denney Dwight Evans Ray Lambert Billy New Bodine Sinyard

<u>Guests</u>

Mark Woodall, Sierra Club Ronny Just, Georgia Power Tim Earl, Georgia Power Deb Phillips, Georgia Industry Environmental Coalition Bryan Tolar, Georgia Urban Ag Council Kevin Jeselnik, Chattahoochee Riverkeeper Rena Peck, Georgia River Network

Staff Members

Mark Williams, Commissioner Walter Rabon Kyle Pearson Kate Iannuzzi Donald Kirkland Cathy Barnette Alexandrea Solomon Thomas Barnard Jeff Cown Steve Friedman Ted Will Doug Haymans

Richard Dunn, Director John Eunice Karen Hays Chuck Mueller Anna Truszczynski Laura Williams Minutes – Coastal Committee February 22, 2022 Page 2

The February 22, 2022 meeting of the Coastal Resources Committee was called to order by Bill Jones, Chairman of the Board of Natural Resources.

Chairman Jones called on Rob Leebern, Vice Chair and Acting Chair of the Coastal Resources Division.

Mr. Leebern stated there is a vacancy on the Coastal Marshlands Protection and Shore Protection Committees with the recent resignation of Mr. Zach Harris. He further stated the CRD staff received six nominations for consideration. He added that this nomination will complete Mr. Harris' term ending December 31, 2022 and will be eligible for appointment to a full term at that time.

Mr. Leebern stated that after consultation with Chairman Bill Jones, Ms. Nancy Addison, and Director Doug Haymans, he would like to propose that the Committee recommend that the Board approve the appointment of Dr. Valerie Hepburn to the Coastal Marshlands Protection and Shore Protection Committees.

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Leebern, seconded by Mr. Hatfield, and carried unanimously</u> <u>that the Coastal Committee recommend the Board approve the appointment of Dr. Valerie</u> <u>Hepburn to the Coastal Marshlands Protection and Shore Protection Committees, to complete</u> <u>the term of Mr. Zach Harris, ending December 31, 2022.</u>

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.