# Minutes Coastal Committee A. W. Jones Heritage Center 610 Beachview Drive St. Simons Island, GA 31522

Friday, January 27, 2023 9:00 a.m.

## **Committee Members**

Nancy Addison, Chair
Randy Dellinger
Joe Hatfield
Tim Lowe
Paul Shailendra
Miki Thomaston
Gary Vowell
Dee Yancey
Bill Jones, Board Chair, Ex-officio

## **Board Members**

Nick Ayers
Dwight Davis
Patrick Denney
Charles DePriest
Dan Garcia
Penn Hodge
Kevin Jackson
Ray Lambert
Bodine Sinyard

### Guests

Alice Keyes, One Hundred Miles
Beth Vowell
Bill Clark, Okefenokee Swamp Park
Charles McMillan, Georgia Conservancy
Deborah Y. Reed, Okefenokee Swamp – Reeds Grocery
Ebony Garard, Sowing Seeds
George Penniman, Concerned Young Citizen
Henrietta Bailey, Sowing Seeds
Kim Bednarek, Okefenokee Swamp Park
Kim Thayer

# **Staff Members**

Mark Williams, Commissioner Walter Rabon Cathy Barnette Kate lannuzzi **Donald Kirkland** Artica Gaston Thomas Barnard Jeff Cown Steve Friedman Ted Will **Doug Haymans** Karl Burgess Tyler Jones Jill Andrews Carolyn Belcher Kathy Knowlton **Paul Medders** Jared Flowers Julie Califf Ellis Johnson Bill Donohue

Richard Dunn, Director John Eunice

James Hamilton

Minutes – Coastal Committee January 27, 2023 Page 2

Lakesha Nixon, Sowing Seeds
Lee Weeks, Coral Hospitality
Mark Osterhaus, Coral Hospitality
Mary Floyd Ayers
Rena Peck, Georgia River Network
Reverend Antwon Nixon, Sowing Seeds
Spud Woodward
Susan Inman, One Hundred Miles
Sylvia Everett, Sowing Seeds
Wade Herring, Concerned Citizen

The January 27, 2023 meeting of the Coastal Resources Committee was called to order by Bill Jones, Chairman of the Board of Natural Resources.

Chairman Jones called on Ms. Nancy Addison, Chair of the Coastal Resources Committee.

Ms. Addison called on Doug Haymans, Director of the Coastal Resources Division, for action on the Coastal Marshlands Protection Committee and Shore Protection Committee reappointment.

Director Haymans stated that Dr. Valerie Hepburn was appointed in February 2022 to fill the remaining term of Mr. Zach Harris who previously resigned. He further stated that during her short tenure Dr. Hepburn has shown to be a valuable, consistent member of the CMPC and SPC and has indicated her interest in reappointment.

Director Haymans stated that in consultation with Chairman Jones and Committee Chair Nancy Addison, the Coastal Resources Division recommends the reappointment of Dr. Hepburn. He further stated her term would be effective immediately upon approval and extend to December 31, 2026.

A motion was made by Ms. Thomaston, seconded by Mr. Hatfield, and carried unanimously that the committee recommends the reappointment of Dr. Valerie Hepburn to the Coastal Marshlands Protection Committee and Shore Protection Committee.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.