# Minutes Environmental Protection Committee Cloudland Canyon State Park Group Shelter 122 Cloudland Canyon Park Road Rising Fawn, GA 30738

Tuesday, August 24, 2021 9:00 a.m.

### Attendees:

## **Committee Members**

Ray Lambert, Chair Dwight Evans, Vice Chair

**Nick Ayers** 

William Bagwell
Dwight Davis
Randy Dellinger
Patrick Denney
Duncan Johnson

**Bill Jones** 

**Bodine Sinyard** 

Dee Yancey, Board Chair, Ex-officio

# **Board Members**

Nancy Addison Joe Hatfield Tim Lowe Billy New Miki Thomaston

### **Staff Members**

Mark Williams, Commissioner

Walter Rabon Kyle Pearson Kate Iannuzzi Cathy Barnette Thomas Barnard

Jeff Cown

Steve Friedman Doug Haymans

Ted Will

**Taylor Brown Fisher** 

Clint Peacock Scott Robinson

Richard Dunn, Director

John Eunice Jac Capp Karen Hays Chuck Mueller Laura Williams The August 24, 2021 meeting of the Environmental Protection Committee was called to order by Chairman Dee Yancey.

Chairman Yancey called on Ray Lambert, Chairman of the Environmental Protection Committee. Mr. Lambert called on Chuck Mueller, Chief of the Land Protection Branch, to present the Proposed FY 2022 Spend Plan for the Solid Waste Trust Fund.

Mr. Mueller stated the Solid Waste Trust Fund was established in 1990 and the funds come from a fee on each new tire sold by retail tire dealers. He further stated the fee was reauthorized in 2021 through HB 511, setting the fee at \$1.00 per new tire and extending the collection of the fee through June 30, 2032. He added the FY 2022 budget is \$3.78 million to be split between EPD Program Execution and Management, Keep Georgia Beautiful program, Scrap Tire Abatement, and the Emergency Reserve.

Mr. Mueller requested a favorable consideration.

A motion was made by Mr. Johnson, seconded by Mr. Evans, and carried unanimously that the Committee recommend the Board adopt the Resolution to approve the proposed FY 2022 Spend Plan for the Solid Waste Trust Fund.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.