Minutes State Parks and Historic Sites Committee Red Top Mountain Visitor Center 50 Lodge Road, SE Acworth, GA 30102

September 28, 2021 9:00 a.m.

Attendees:

Committee Members

Joe Hatfield, Chair

Miki Thomaston, Vice Chair

Nancy Addison William Bagwell Randy Dellinger Patrick Denney Dwight Evans Duncan Johnson Ray Lambert Rob Leebern

Dee Yancey, Board Chair, Ex-officio

Board Members

Billy New

Nick Ayers Dwight Davis Bill Jones Tim Lowe Paul Shailendra Bodine Sinyard

Staff Members

Mark Williams, Commissioner

Walter Rabon
Kyle Pearson
Kate Iannuzzi
Cathy Barnette
Donald Kirkland
Artica Gaston
Thomas Barnard

Jeff Cown Steve Friedman

Ted Will Taylor Brown

Richard Dunn, Director

John Eunice Jac Capp Karen Hays Chuck Mueller Laura Williams Minutes – Parks, Recreation, and Historic Sites Committee September 28, 2021 Page 2

The September 28, 2021 meeting of the State Parks and Historic Sites Committee was called to order by Dee Yancey, Chairman of the Board of Natural Resources.

Chairman Yancey called on Joe Hatfield, Chairman of the State Parks and Historic Sites Committee.

Mr. Hatfield called on Taylor Brown, Chief of Grants, to present Georgia's Statewide Comprehensive Outdoor Recreation Plan (SCORP) 2022-2026 for approval.

Ms. Brown stated the proposed SCORP was discussed in detail at the August board meeting prior to publishing the proposed Plan. She further stated that following the briefing, the Plan was made available for public comment via online, telephone, and written comments. She added a virtual public meeting was held on September 13, 2021, and she presented a summary of these comments to the Board.

A motion was made by Ms. Thomaston, seconded by Ms. Addison, and carried unanimously that the Committee recommend the Board adopt the Resolution to approve Georgia's Statewide Comprehensive Outdoor Recreation Plan (SCORP) 2022-2026.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.